RESPECT – An Infidelity Series Novel

“The making of a man”

From New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a stand-alone novel, a spin-off from her beloved Infidelity series. With classic Aleatha Romig twists, turns, deceptions, and devotions, this new epic mafia love story/ thriller will delve into a world where family takes on new meaning, and even the inhabitants are suspicious of the next chapter.

“Standing at what I believe is the precipice of my life, I, Oren Demetri, was too young to understand that it wasn’t and too old to imagine that it couldn’t be.

The already hefty accumulation of my successes and failures, bravery and fears, and rewards and suffering, had brought me to this point. It was hard to contemplate the things I’d done, and yet in reality, I’d only begun to learn the possibilities.

I suppose that’s how it was for me at twenty-nine years of age on the brink of all I’d ever wanted without fully realizing the price I would pay. Yet in that moment, I knew there would be no cost too great or sacrifice I wouldn’t make. I had no idea how far-reaching that moment of self-discovery would be because as the congregation’s murmurs quieted, bleeding into silence and allowing the thump of my heart to be the only sound I heard, I was a man filled with love and adoration, emotions in stark contrast to those I needed in the world I’d built or the one I was about to enter.

Angelina Costello was my dream and now my reality. I’d worked diligently to move beyond the actuality of being a dockworker’s son to becoming a self-made, successful entrepreneur, all in an effort to earn the right to call her my own. I’d overcome servitude to others, collecting their paychecks and lowly praises, to become the one who signed the paychecks and offered the accolades when they were rightfully earned.

The world was my oyster and walking toward me on the arm of her uncle was my pearl. I’d found her amongst the empty shells life had offered. There was no need to pry open another possibility. Angelina was all I wanted. Yet my path was uncharted. There was more for me to earn, lose, and willingly give.

The top of that list was respect.”

This stand-alone novel may be read before or after reading the Infidelity series or on its own.

Have you been Aleatha’d?

iBooks | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Nook | Kobo

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Reviewed by Tracey Lou on behalf of KFF

Aleatha Romig  is one of my favourite authors and yet again she didn’t disappoint. This book is a standalone but you will recognise some of the characters from her Infidelity series. I read the book from start to finish and found the story enthralling.

This is a story about a father, a husband, a lover and a member of the mafia. Oren Demetri is a mafioso and the moment he set eyes on Angelina Costello, he was instantly drawn to her but after finding out her name, he took a step back. By chance years later, they re- connected and that is where this love story begins.

Two people in love, you would think this was a match made in heaven. It was, but like many couples it wasn’t always plain sailing. Aleatha takes you through their journey as a married couple leaving no stone unturned. The highs, the lows, the tears and the laughter. This is one man’s story.

Angelina was not blind to the goings on within her family, but she tried to distance herself and her son from the “family” business. Living away from them put a strain on her relationship with her husband. She could see it, but he couldn’t. His absences were noted and his excuses was always business.  A business that he had built up and hoped to pass on to his son. However, it came at a cost.

This was truly a captivating mafia love story. There was one thing I didn’t quite understand although I did try. If you truly love someone and respect them, why would you cheat on them? After reading this book and Oren’s story, I feel that I must now go and read the whole Infidelity Series to see what has become of him. Is his life rich and full or he is a sad and lonely man? I rated this book five stars and can’t recommend it enough. The story flowed continuously throughout and was superbly written, holding my attention at all times. Congratulations Aleatha!



Angelina Costello was the only woman to ever take my breath away. I couldn’t not speak to her. “I haven’t seen you since NYU.”
“I’ve been living overseas, studying history and architecture in Italy.”
“Italy! Molto bene. And now you’re back?” I asked.
“I am.”
“To stay?”
“I believe so.”
“Perhaps we could see one another,” I proposed, all the while hoping that she would say yes and saying a prayer that she would say no.
Her lips curved upward. “I see you now.”
“Si, and I would like to see more.”
With a glint to her gaze, she said, “I never forgot you. I thought at one time…” Her head tilted innocently as her lip momentarily hid behind her teeth. “Are you sure you aren’t still scared of me?”
“Angelina, I’m quite certain that I’m terrified of you.”
Her smile grew. “Bene. Then let me give you my number.”

Copyright owned by Romig Works LLC

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana, USA. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of over thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams and bring your imagination to life!
Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011. CONSEQUENCES became a bestselling series with five novels and two companions released from 2011 through 2015. The compelling and epic story of Anthony and Claire Rawlings has graced more than half a million e-readers. Aleatha released the first of her series TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS, in the fall of 2014. These stand alone thrillers continue Aleatha’s twisted style with an increase in heat.
In the fall of 2015, Aleatha moved head first into the world of dark romantic suspense with the release of BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series that has taken the reading world by storm. She also began her traditional publishing career with Thomas and Mercer. Her books INTO THE LIGHT and AWAY FROM THE DARK were published through this mystery/thriller publisher in 2016.
In the spring of 2017, Aleatha released her first stand-alone, fun, and sexy romantic comedy with PLUS ONE, followed by the sweet stand-alone, ONE NIGHT.
Aleatha is a “Published Author’s Network” member of the Romance Writers of America and PEN America. She is represented by Kevan Lyon of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.