THE PERFECT AFFAIR by Angela Henry

From Angela Henry comes an absolutely gripping psychological
thriller with a shocking twist,
The Perfect Affair



You both wanted her out of your lives. But is one of you a killer?

When Paige Nichols meets her husband’s glamorous new colleague at a faculty mixer, she instantly knows they’re having an affair. It’s the way he looks at her, like she’s the only woman in the world. Aaron used to look at her like that, too. And with her beautiful, knowing smile, Cara Morton seems to enjoy flaunting their romance right under her nose.

Paige believes Aaron when he says he’ll break things off. What else can she do when she’s determined to hold her family together? But then Cara makes a shocking accusation about Aaron that threatens to end his career as a college professor and shatter their barely patched up marriage. Paige stands by her husband, but doubts creep in. Is Cara telling the truth? Or is this all part of her dangerous game?

Then Cara Morton disappears without a trace.

Paige knows her husband can keep secrets. She’s keeping dark secrets of her own. But is he a killer? The police seem to think so. But they don’t know Cara. They don’t know about her past. They don’t know what she’s capable of…

A twisty and completely unputdownable page-turner that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Perfect Marriage and The Wife Between Us.


Add to Goodreads

Purchase The Perfect Affair:
An absolutely gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

Amazon: US | UK | CAN | AUS


Narrated by Rachel Handshaw,
start listening to The Perfect Affair

Audible: US | UK | CAN | AUS


3-75-Stars ~ Reviewed by Sharon Thérèse

I love discovering new authors and getting my teeth into their psychological suspense novels, but Ms Henry’s The Perfect Affair threw me for a loop! Don’t get me wrong, it kept me guessing throughout, and that whodunit feel with the killer twist was what I liked most about the book. But in some instances, I felt a tad uncomfortable about the goings-on, which, in all honesty, was my first point in favour. Although there was a lot of plot depth to get my head around, I wish I hadn’t had so much trouble connecting to a few of the many characters. Also, the diverse timelines felt too convoluted for my liking.

I can’t deny that she went above board to hook her readers from the word go. Nonetheless, my biggest concern was giving the author the benefit of the doubt when I reached the middle of the story. I kept going. Her writing style is strong; I liked the short chapters, which built up the suspense, and even though I wasn’t keen on the protagonists, the tough spot they were in fostered my empathy. I don’t need to like all the characters in a book to enjoy it—a detail Henry developed satisfactorily, especially with whom I thought was not just a troublemaker but also the one who’d disappeared into thin air. Hence, this person who caused so much unrest and consequently rattled my cage was another positive point.

The saying, ‘Don’t foul in your own nest’, fits Aaron Nicols to a tee. Paige, his wife, knows something’s off even before she meets his love interest. I applauded this scorned woman’s astuteness. From here on in, there are more tortuous bends than you’d find on the worst possible mountain road. Did my reasoning suss who the culprit was? When I convinced myself that I’d cracked it, I was way off the mark—not surprising that the ending floored me big time. Here comes that extra point and a half.

Told from multiple perspectives, drama, secrets, and betrayal abound. Good job done to Ms. Henry, and I’ll certainly be reading more of her books.

Many thanks to Storm Publishing and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy.


Angela Henry is the award-winning author of six mysteries featuring nosy amateur sleuth Kendra Clayton, the Xavier Knight urban fantasy detective series, the thriller The Paris Secret, and middle-grade fantasy novel Labyrinth Society written under the pen-name Angie Kelly. She’s also the author of Grateful: A Journal for Counting Your Blessings.

Angela has been published by BET Books, Harlequin’s Carina Press, and Kensington Publishing before starting her own publishing imprint Boulevard West Press LLC.

When she’s not writing she loves to travel, is a connoisseur of B horror movies, and is a functioning anime addict. She lives in Ohio with her husband and their spoiled Chiweenie and is currently procrastinating on her next deadline.

Connect with Angela:

Website | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | YouTube

Amazon | Goodreads | BookBub


Leave a comment